The Power of Music

You had to be there! That’s all I can say. But I’ll try to recapture the moment and relate it here.We were at the Pennsylvania Renaissance Fair yesterday where Albannach performed throughout the afternoon on the main stage. The five member band delivers a Celtic percussive punch and I’ve got to tell you, it gripped me!

I like Celtic music, but yesterday I was intoxicated by it! I’ve heard pipes and drums before, but what I heard yesterday was more than music. It was a message that bypassed the intellect and connected with my spirit. It was more than rousing. It was beyond words.

It explained without words the power of the human spirit delivered through the passion of music in a way that opened my understanding to something I thought I knew for many years. That something is the power of praise and worship to Almighty God. No, this was not a worship service at this Celtic festival, but it showed me something I couldn’t connect before and I not sure I can even explain it now.

While I was there in the front swaying with everyone else caught up in the sounds of drums, pipes and didgeridoo, I thought of Israel’s tribe, Judah, the lineage of Jesus. I imagined just for a moment what that would have sounded like magnified 10,000 times. Unbelievable, right? Unimaginable too!

But that’s what you would have witnessed as you watched the tribe of Judah lead one attack after another against their enemies. Judah was the first to go as they led Israel’s army through their intense music to destroy their enemies. You can’t explain that intellectually. It falls apart. There’s no basis for such claims, but what gripped me was a realization, I mean, like I was there on the front lines of attack and caught up in a space where anything is possible!

Music has no power of its own. It comes from somewhere. Or someone.

Look, no matter how hard you may try, this stuff is over our heads! And the beauty of it, is this; it was meant to be over our heads. Meaning this. If you can explain what you feel in your heart and spirit in some rational way, you’re terminally ill.

Even now, as I’m writing this listening to Elegy’s Immortal Memory, I am transported to a place where there’s no pain, suffering or defeat. Ah, the power of it all!

And cooler, yet, is that God himself sings and shouts over us with shouts of victory and joy. The Lord your God is mighty smack dab in the middle of everything you’re in and going through!

Surrender to that, and you’ll go out with joy where there is nothing that can conquer you.

 

 

 

Author: RoyZed

I'm a pretty simple country guy who enjoys living in the wide open spaces. I was married two years after graduating from high school. Life was pretty simple. You know, black and white, clear cut, no hassle kind of life style.Then 40 years later our marriage ceded to death. Life as I knew it was over! Pain and suffering have a way of opening you up like a plow tills a field. As a result, my black and white philosophy went to 256 shades of gray. I have a changed perspective, a different heart and a new life. My wife, Carrie, and I live in Kempton, Pennsylvania where we are enjoying our new lives together with our friends, family, horses and a colony of feral cats.

6 thoughts on “The Power of Music”

  1. Hey Roy, This is really good. I too like Celtic music and there are times that I seem to can’t get enough of it, which is strange for me but everytime I listen to it I am “moved” as well. I have never thought about the conncection with Judah but after thinking about it for a few moments I can sure see it. Keep ’em coming my friend.

    Like

      1. Mostly for the assonance and consonance of the sounding of the two words together. But the cosmic Christ powers me and the blog and I believe in the holy trinity, so there also evokes the image of triangular relationship. Thanks for asking!

        Like

  2. Thanks for sharing this inspiring post about music. I really enjoyed the theme! I have just started a poetry blog here on WordPress in case you have time to have a look? Today’s post is about music. Have a good day, Sam 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

