Jeopardy – It’s not what you think . . .

Jeopardy, n. jep’ardy. Exposure to death, loss or injury; hazard; danger; peril. [.]                  [.] They were filled with water and were in jeopardy. [.] Luke 8 – Webster’s 1828 Dictionary

It’s ironic in a way, that jeopardy was never partof God’s plan for man. And yet, death, loss, injury, hazard, danger, etc. is a part of the human experience on a daily basis without regard for you who are or where you’re from.

I mean, what would the evening news be without it?

Movies would lose the majority of their plots!

Therapists, from the counselor to the shrink would go out of business. So would churches!

I’m simply saying that, without jeopardy du jour, unavoidable as it is, life as we know it would be unfathomable. And yet, we try to avoid the unavoidable. I’m not talking about throwing yourself in front of trouble. I’m actually an advocate for avoiding it, but most of the time, when troubles hit you, it’s not your fault. Life happens!

Observation – So when life happens, don’t run from it. Embrace it and in the embrace you’ll find Jesus there who’s overcome all of it before it found you. He’s not the way out of trouble, but the way in and through it.

Loss of a job, loss of identity, money, opportunity, spouses, children are what life is made of. Life is full of losses. Manage all your risks, but in the end, you’ll lose something or someone. It’s crushing. God never dreamed of this. Neither did you.

The Gift of Desperation – “But then I shall know even as I am known” 1 Corinthians 13:12

Knowing ourselves like this is not a luxury, a perceived spiritual option – it’s imperative! The same eye that looks at God is constantly looking back at me. Knowing me from outside myself is an objective revelation of truth. Before this occurs, I make the mistake of looking at truth as that sense or knowledge which confirms my understanding. This is a common mistake, for it is not truth’s function to agree with or confirm me, but to set me free from me.

Again, I must remember that Truth is a person – the Lord Jesus Christ, the person of the Holy Spirit who lives in me and whose nature I have. He desires to give me revelation outside of where I am presently – a knowing that is larger than I am. As soon as I decide to be faithful to truth, I am a witness against myself. – Joshua 24:22

It’s a violent process to press into the kingdom. Neither life nor truth revolves around me, but I am invited to walk in the abundance of knowing myself as I am known by the Truth. The deliverance from a life of self-awareness is enormous. As I move from now to then, I see and know what I did not know before. There is a version of the person as he is already known by God – that is the person God desires for us to know. It is inside this place Jesus has prepared for us.

Sadly, I have no idea of where I am, because I can only make reference to life as it relates to me. So in my desperate moments, I perform what I understand, or mimic what I see in others – and so I follow the crowd. Finding my real self is scary, because it means separating me from all that is familiar. – Abram did that very thing.

Genesis 22:9 – This event is a picture of the mistake we make in thinking that the ultimate God wants of us is the sacrifice of death. God wants a sacrifice through death, by sacrificing our lives to Him, to Truth and to Truth’s ways. This loosens the bands that hold back our lives. We are constantly being delivered unto death that the life of the resurrection may work through us. In this, He gives us our lives back to us as a prize of our warfare. These bands are loosened by my identification with the death of Jesus with my own death.

Desperation is the experience of losing control. It is like a wave or front moving through the mind. It’s perceived as loss or death. If I sacrifice all my strengths sanctified in me through Jesus, the “loss” is turned into great gain. If I turn to my flesh to save me during times of desperation, the window of opportunity to enter His Kingdom is lost, and I remain in darkness. God gives me the opportunity to enter His Kingdom during this experience. “Blessed are the poor in spirit, for theirs is the Kingdom of Heaven”. – Matthew 5:3

Without this experience, man’s reality can only be theoretical left with religious language.  God desires the whole man to enter the Kingdom, not a divided man that is so typical of our culture. “Unless a man is born of water and the spirit, he cannot enter the Kingdom”. So much of what Jesus said has been relegated to doctrinal posturing instead of simply seeing His Words for what they are – life and spirit. – John 3:8

Such an experience was Hagar’s. Through death, viz., her circumstances, an entrance was ministered to her to enter another reality, a reality she had not know before. God was with Ishmael there in the desert! – Genesis 21:16-20

This was Jacob’s testimony. “Surely the Lord is in this place, and I knew it not” . . . “and this is the very gate of heaven”.     – Genesis 28:16

God told Abraham, “And I will give unto thee and to thy seed after thee, the land wherein thou art a stranger . . . for an everlasting possession, and I will be their God”. – Genesis 17:8

God means to give every place to us where we think we’re strangers. He gives us opportunity to possess through death and desperation every strange place and transform it into an inheritance by opening our eyes to see Him and all things hidden from our eyes. If we keep our heart space and mind space open long enough, revelation, the result of truth’s work, opens my circumstances and transforms it into a reality not known before.

Like the object hidden in low light to the naked eye, is the image captured through the lengthened exposure of a slow shutter speed (identification). We pray this every time we ask the Lord to open the eyes of our heart.

“Thou will keep him in perfect peace, whose mind is stayed on thee, because he trusts in thee”. This is the prophet’s counsel. This is the word of the Lord. He is instructing us “how” to see and “how” to know, not what, but how. We entered the land as strangers to possess for ourselves and for our seed after us. Those who have eyes to see and ears to hear should teach others the ways of God. Teach them how to see, not what to see, how to hear, not what to hear.

This not only teaches others the way, but gives them free access knowing how to enter more of the land and become leaders for others to follow. – Isaiah 26:3

Author: RoyZed

I'm a pretty simple country guy who enjoys living in the wide open spaces. I was married two years after graduating from high school. Life was pretty simple. You know, black and white, clear cut, no hassle kind of life style.Then 40 years later our marriage ceded to death. Life as I knew it was over! Pain and suffering have a way of opening you up like a plow tills a field. As a result, my black and white philosophy went to 256 shades of gray. I have a changed perspective, a different heart and a new life. My wife, Carrie, and I live in Kempton, Pennsylvania where we are enjoying our new lives together with our friends, family, horses and a colony of feral cats.

Leave a Reply

