Getting There . . .

It’s 258 miles across Lake Huron to Georgian Bay from this point on the southern shores of Lake Huron. That was Charlie says. The front lawn at my in-law’s home consist of a deck, followed by a wild patch of lawn and trees. Beyond that is a sandy beach on the southern shore of Lake Huron. Looking out of my in-laws north facing window, like the one above taken during winter provides an endless span of water right up to the horizon.

What looks really far, the horizon at beach level is only about 2.5 miles. The map on the wall next to the window looking north shows what Charlie told me. There’s 258 miles of water followed by the rest of Ontario.

I’ve been coming to Ontario since my early 20’s and I have not seen most of it. After looking at the map, I realize how huge the province is. I know more about Ontario through maps and what others have said, like my friend Charlie. I have no reason to doubt Charlie or the maps. What I lack, obviously, is the experience of being in places I have only heard about.

In two days is my 66th birthday. I’m realizing that there are so many places I’ve only heard about without having firsthand experience. Maps, stories from others, and books tell me about places I have never been. Thank God for all this help, because it lets me know I don’t know all there is to know. I know what I know. I know what I don’t know. And then there’s the stuff I don’t know that I don’t know.

There’s this place I’ve read about. I’ve heard others talk about it. I’ve been told it’s closer than I realize and yet, for most of my life, I haven’t begun to touch its full expanse. At 66, I’ve only see a small part of it.

Jesus talked about this place. He said it is his Father’s house. He said it has many rooms. He also said I am that house or place. Jesus said that anyone who loves him will keep his commandment; that his Father will love them and both will come to make their home in that person. Whew!

So there’s this place on the inside of me called the Father’s house, the place prepared by Jesus. It’s the place He has gone to prepare and now that the promised Holy Spirit has come, my life is home to the entire God-Head. I certainly wasn’t aware of that 43 years ago when I opened my heart to Jesus.

I’ve not arrived.

I’m getting there!

Author: RoyZed

I'm a pretty simple country guy who enjoys living in the wide open spaces. I was married two years after graduating from high school. Life was pretty simple. You know, black and white, clear cut, no hassle kind of life style.Then 40 years later our marriage ceded to death. Life as I knew it was over! Pain and suffering have a way of opening you up like a plow tills a field. As a result, my black and white philosophy went to 256 shades of gray. I have a changed perspective, a different heart and a new life. My wife, Carrie, and I live in Kempton, Pennsylvania where we are enjoying our new lives together with our friends, family, horses and a colony of feral cats.

Leave a Reply

