Punishment Paid in Full

PUN’ISHMENT, n. Any pain or suffering inflicted on a person for a crime or offense, by the authority to which the offender is subject, either by the constitution of God or of civil society. The punishment of the faults and offenses of children by the parent, is by … Webster 1828 Dictionary of American English

Typical schoolroom punishment when I was in elementary school was sitting in a corner facing away from the rest of the class. I sat there for the remainder of the class session. Eyes to the corner.

My crime? It was for acting up in some way, talking in class too much when I should have been listening. If the crime warranted it, punishment escalated in the form of getting spanked! Sometimes the spanking was public in front of the class. Humiliating! I remember times when I was returning to my seat, sneers or snide remarks would escape my mouth, only to be instantly ordered to make a U-turn to the flogging post!

I got what I deserved. I was a real prankster and loved the admiration from my classmates. But then most of my fellow mates pulled other stuff worthy of the same punishment. The cool people rarely got caught and they never sat in corners or got spanked. But they should have. In fact, the whole class; well maybe except for the one or two who never misbehaved.

Payment made: I paid for my poor behavior in school. I deserved it, but so did most of the class. The difference between them and me. I got caught. They didn’t. Payment for committing crimes is the only sensible judicious  thing to do. The punishment is commensurate with the offense. You know, eye for an eye and tooth for tooth sort of thing.

Inherited criminality: You and I are guilty. The crime we are guilty of is something we inherited. Inherited? From whom? What crime? And if I’m guilty, how do I pay for my crime I inherited?

Look around the classroom you’re living in. Surrounded by mates of all ethnicity, ages, sexes, social status, etc. Everyone in the room is guilty of something. Check out the behavior. Look closer and find the motives and you’ll eventually locate the weapon of choice. From a reckless drunk or sober driver to a serial killer or some deranged person who randomly shoots innocent passer-byers. Then there’s the stuff that goes on in board rooms, faculties lounges, bedrooms, kitchens, heck, anywhere you can find people.

You didn’t elect the classroom you’re living in. You had no choice. You inherited your own locale. You also inherited the criminality. Oh, you’re not a criminal? That’s what I used to say. It’s what many others have also said. The crimes I committed didn’t make the headlines or evening news, not even on the local scene.

Death-Style: No, the crimes I  was guilty of were things you couldn’t even see. Stuff going on in my mind. Heinous crap. Theft, murder, rape, etc. Well, I actually did steal a few times. But the stuff going on in my head toward other people, I mean the things I was capable of was pretty sick. Now when I look at someone whose face is plastered all over the life screens around the world, I think. I think that they are not so bad in actual life compared to the potential I used to hold inside.

Where did all that stuff come from in me? Did I get it from my dad? If I did, where’d he come by it? You see what I’m talking about? I stole petty stuff from my own sisters growing up. I discovered sexual pleasure early in life long before I should have. I fought in school. Not much, but once was too much. The actual fights weren’t anything like the victories I held in my mind.  We wont go there.

So I grew up in a family of 8 kids with two monogamous parents. They worked hard, had lots of kids and went to church every Sunday. Our family could fill a pew. They were short pews. Where did all that other stuff come from?

When I was 23, I learned where all the crap in my life came from. It came from a disposition I had. A propensity to do bad instead of good. A natural ability to think and secretly desire evil.

If you want to know what water is, don’t ask a fish. If you want to know what death is, you can only get the answer from someone who is really alive. Only adults can tell you what it’s like to be a kid.

Until we know what death is, that is death as a lifestyle, we can’t see where it comes from. Deathstyle comes from a deeper source than we can touch. It comes from a well so deep we can’t see bottom. Wrong doing is not the source of deathstyle. The source is a wrong being.

You can only do what you are.

Bottom Line: This deathstyle, or sentence of death I inherited, came from the result of one man’s wrongful act. Adam sinned in the beginning, and afterwards, all who followed, lived and still live in the wake of that trespass against God. Another man stopped the cycle of sin and death.

Jesus Christ died a death beyond description. He died as the last man of this morbid society and took that man to hell. Three days later, the punishment was completed, as his soul suffered in torment over the sin He became on that Roman scaffold. Three days after His entrance into hell, Jesus Christ was recreated in hell by the Spirit of the Living God.

He’s alive with this message, “Your punishment for sin is paid in full”!

Believe the good news and come to me . . .

 

Author: RoyZed

I'm a pretty simple country guy who enjoys living in the wide open spaces. I was married two years after graduating from high school. Life was pretty simple. You know, black and white, clear cut, no hassle kind of life style.Then 40 years later our marriage ceded to death. Life as I knew it was over! Pain and suffering have a way of opening you up like a plow tills a field. As a result, my black and white philosophy went to 256 shades of gray. I have a changed perspective, a different heart and a new life. My wife, Carrie, and I live in Kempton, Pennsylvania where we are enjoying our new lives together with our friends, family, horses and a colony of feral cats.

Leave a Reply

