The Basis of Life is. . .

 . . . . Tragedy

Ever since man took his first taste of the forbidden fruit, the knowledge of good and evil, he has been addicted to explaining everything that occurs in his world. Once grief touches us, we are full of reaction, and say spiteful things. As long as things go well and I am happy, I’m living the dream, right? I’m in the best of all worlds.

Have you ever tried to comfort someone who is overcome with grief? It seems there are no words to do so, because there aren’t any. The story of Job is a good example of a person who is immersed in intense grief. The best things his friends did for him happened during the first week of their visit; they kept heir mouths shut. Then the silence got to them and they began their dissertations giving their friend the reasons for his unfortunate state.

There are those times when people suffer a grievous loss from which there is no deliverance or illumination.The last thing we need to take is a religious pose or an evangelical pose or any pose that does what Job’s friends did; belittle the grief.

Prejudice is something we all have, but it’s a really bad well to draw from when you’re preaching at someone.  Job made a very important observation; the basis of things is not logical or rational, but tragic. “I know there is stuff going on right now in my life for which I can give no explanation, but I know that God will see me through no matter what my circumstances are and I refuse to adopt a new creed that misrepresents God and misrepresents me”.

Have you ever been there? Are you there now? If you know that God is faithful and will bring you through; if you refuse to adopt a new creed during this time of misery that maligns both God and you, you are on the right path. Job’s integrity and misery remained constantly with him, as well as the sense that he is not entirely responsible for his circumstances. No man can be held responsible for inheriting Sin. What God holds him responsible for is when he refuses to let Jesus Christ deliver him from it when he sees that that is what He came to do.

So on this ‘holiday weekend of mixed dogmas and doctrines, I offer you this. If you will simply trust the little you do know of God, be reverent with what you don’t know; two things will grow out of the soil of your tragedy. – Hope and Truth

 

 

 

Author: RoyZed

I'm a pretty simple country guy who enjoys living in the wide open spaces. I was married two years after graduating from high school. Life was pretty simple. You know, black and white, clear cut, no hassle kind of life style.Then 40 years later our marriage ceded to death. Life as I knew it was over! Pain and suffering have a way of opening you up like a plow tills a field. As a result, my black and white philosophy went to 256 shades of gray. I have a changed perspective, a different heart and a new life. My wife, Carrie, and I live in Kempton, Pennsylvania where we are enjoying our new lives together with our friends, family, horses and a colony of feral cats.

Leave a Reply

