The Way I see it . ..

Shot through the heart andshot-heart you’re to blame, you gave love a bad name.

I really am thankful for these lyrics provided by Bon Jovi. I’m continually amazed at how song writers capture the emotions of our everyday. As you know songs about love probably lead the pack across the genre of song themes.

There isn’t anything more sublime and wonderful than true intimacy in a love relationship between a man and a woman, particularly those sanctioned in marriage. How many love songs have been written, no one knows. But what we do know is, there isn’t anything which brings more joy and causes so much heart ache as this thing called love.

This song is about expectations of love that weren’t met. Apparently the man in the lyrics had an understanding of what love looks like in order to pass the judgement, “You gave love a bad name”. “I played the part, you played the game, you gave love a bad name”. It sounds as though he understood what his role was in this relationship. And the song continues with blistering remarks about his hurt incurred at the hands of his lover. Who doesn’t relate to that?

But I have a few questions I need to ask. Where did he get his picture of love? Was it from his mom and dad? Was it his priest, minister, church? Is it possible that love was already in the man before any other relationship formed? I suppose I should have researched this before this writing, but than I would come across as the expert I’m not.

So here’s the way I see it.

Our Creator made us to be loved and to love. By design we are creatures of love because we were created by love. As a side note, I really never knew and still do not know why we regard sexual intercourse as making love. Is it because in some strange way we see ourselves much like that of our creator – Who made love!  We were certainly created to know and be one with Love. But I do not believe we can make love. Strange term.

I believe every individual inherently knows something for which they constantly look for, even as early as the new born. Some never find it. Some do! The touch of the mother. The words of the father. The child coming in to this new world is either nourished by the bond of this relationship we call home, or traumatized by its absence. Love needs a home.

Often those traumatized wind up “looking for love in all the wrong places”. Where are the wrong places and who determines they are wrong? In a desperate attempt to locate love, the hungry search tirelessly to find home. Schools, social clubs, bars, singles clubs, strip joints and churches, the list of possible places to find love is endless. I guess the level of desperation and failed experiences has some bearing on where you’ll go looking for love.

Of all places one might think to find love is in a church right? The mental association of God, God’s love and churches are as natural as peanut butter and jelly or peanut butter and bananas. But as many have testified, they want nothing to do with organized religion. Having tried that to find love and disappointed in their experience people are leaving churches in large numbers.

Humanity is hungry for love, but are not liking the menu in today’s church. Why? Again, I’m not an expert in this field, but as one who has been involved for over 35 years in various ways of serving people in different spiritual venues, I can really identify with the young shepherd in Psalms 40:6-8.  Long before he was king of Israel, young David penned these words into a song.

“Doing something for you, bringing something to you – that’s not what you’re after. Being religious and acting pious, that’s not what you’re asking for. You’ve opened my ears so I can listen. So I answered,  and I’m coming to the party you’re throwing for me. That’s when God’s Word entered my life and became part of my very being”. – The Message

There’s much more I could say here, but will save for another time. I don’t say this with a gleeful spirit – “church, we’ve given Love a bad name”.  As the song says, “I played my part and you played your game, you gave love a bad name”.

So, it’s little wonder why the Master said, “You’re blessed when you are ravenously hungry. Then you’re ready for the Messianic meal”.

 

 

Author: RoyZed

I'm a pretty simple country guy who enjoys living in the wide open spaces. I was married two years after graduating from high school. Life was pretty simple. You know, black and white, clear cut, no hassle kind of life style.Then 40 years later our marriage ceded to death. Life as I knew it was over! Pain and suffering have a way of opening you up like a plow tills a field. As a result, my black and white philosophy went to 256 shades of gray. I have a changed perspective, a different heart and a new life. My wife, Carrie, and I live in Kempton, Pennsylvania where we are enjoying our new lives together with our friends, family, horses and a colony of feral cats.

Leave a Reply

