The Unspoken Words of Christ . . .

Just before His crucifixion, Jesus said these words to the twelve. “I still have many things to say to you, but you cannot bear them now. When the Spirit of truth comes, he will guide you into all the truth,for he will not speak on his own authority, but whatever he hears he will speak, and he will declare to you the things that are to come”. – John 16:12-13

There are many things that puzzle me about the nature of God.

This is one of them. Would you look at this with me? Believe me, I am not the authority here. Maybe we can figure it out together. Based on what is written here, Jesus is saying some things that don’t add up to our present Christian aptitude.

Here they are:

  • He ran out of time to say the things He wanted to, but couldn’t?
  • Why were they not able to bear what He had to say?
  • Was He being untruthful?
  • What was left to be said that wasn’t already said?
  • Apparently the Spirit of truth is able to guide them into all the truth and Jesus was not?
  • And if the Spirit of truth is going to guide them into all the truth, why does he not speak on His own authority?

You see what I’m talking about? This kind of thing is troubling, and Colombo is not around!

Help!!

Author: RoyZed

I'm a pretty simple country guy who enjoys living in the wide open spaces. I was married two years after graduating from high school. Life was pretty simple. You know, black and white, clear cut, no hassle kind of life style.Then 40 years later our marriage ceded to death. Life as I knew it was over! Pain and suffering have a way of opening you up like a plow tills a field. As a result, my black and white philosophy went to 256 shades of gray. I have a changed perspective, a different heart and a new life. My wife, Carrie, and I live in Kempton, Pennsylvania where we are enjoying our new lives together with our friends, family, horses and a colony of feral cats.

6 thoughts on “The Unspoken Words of Christ . . .”

  1. Here’s my novice attempt at answering your questions…which I suspect already occupy space in your fertile mind.
    1) •He ran out of time to say the things He wanted to, but couldn’t?
    His time for teaching was accomplished, and it came time for his sacrifice…but their ability to understand, (ears to hear and eyes to see) was not where it had to be for him to tell them more. I believe he was helping to generate within them the positive anticipation of the Holy Spirit, which would of course open their hearts and minds to all.
    2) •Why were they not able to bear what He had to say?
    Their ability to bear the things He could have said, again, I believe, was too immature to grasp the full weight of what was about to happen, and Christ’s sacrificial substitution for us all on that cross was more than they could have fully grasped or even get close to comprehend. It was so different than anything they’d been taught by their religion before Christ, and though Jesus made several references to it, they still did not truly “get it”.
    3) •Was He being untruthful?
    Christ could never be anything but truthful.
    4) •What was left to be said that wasn’t already said?
    Even after Christ rose from the dead, and they were overwhelmed by that, the Holy Spirit was not in them, they were not sealed by God with the Spirit, the one who provided the ears and eyes through which they could truly understand everything. He told them NOT to go out into the world but to wait…until the Holy Spirit came upon them and gave them the understanding they all lacked. What was left to be said…the Good News of redemption, grace, mercy and love as seen with fully open eyes.
    5) •Apparently the Spirit of truth is able to guide them into all the truth and Jesus was not?
    I believe Jesus was the atoning sacrifice for mankind’s sins, and the Holy Spirit is how those who accept, repent and believe are given the understanding spoken about.
    6) •And if the Spirit of truth is going to guide them into all the truth, why does he not speak on His own authority?
    Just as Jesus did not speak on His own authority, neither does the Holy Spirit…rather, they both speak or reveal by the authority of almighty God, I AM, and only Him.

    Perhaps some of these have no specifically right or wrong answers, though I think my understanding is far greater today than it was a few years ago. For what it’s worth, these are my answers to your queries, albeit in my own limited, human understanding and relative to my current location along my faith journey.

    Like

    1. Keith, first of all I thank you for taking the time to dialoge with me here over difficult questions. At least, I think they’re difficult.

      Second, man, you are not a novice in anyway, and even if you were – so what! I really identify with what you’re saying.

      Incidentally, I don’t know that I have real answers to my own questions. I do have my own thoughts, and I want to share them, but that does not make me an authority on these or any other issues just because those thoughts are way out.

      You and I know each other a long time. Ever since Jean died six years ago, I have wrestled with thoughts that I know are so way out there, I select carefully who I share them with.

      That said, I value your commentrs very much.l don’t know about you, but I am finding it hard to find others to take up these thoughts with meaningful conversation.

      I can accept your answers for the questions I posed. Lastg night I was typing this response and my computer kept shutting down. Very wierd!

      So now it’s Friday morning, right. Sometime around 3 or 4 am I’m awake thinking about your comments here. At that moment I started having the most beautiful thoughts (only way I can describe them) about the reality of Christ in us.Thoughts so foreign to my brain and now the moment has passed and I’m stgruggling to put them into words.

      I know this brother. Our God is an awesome God and His desires for us don’t even register in our psyche!

      Paul said it best, “Our eyes haven’t seen, our ears haven’t heard, our minds haven’t thought it”

      I appreciate your input with me. Let’s keep tghe conversation going.

      Like

  2. BTW, I do not wish to imply or infer that my relatively recent and limited understanding is even within one parsec of yours. Your questions prompted me to respond…and, well, here you have it.

    Like

  3. Hey Roy, thanks for posting. I’ve been enjoying them in the little time I have between classes right now (I’m taking 5 courses seminary courses this spring) and this one in particular speaks a bit to where I’m at presently.

    I’ve long been fascinated with the period of time between Peter’s denial and his recommissioning in John 21. For as much as he understood what Jesus was saying in those 3 years, it seems like he still had a wholly other vision for how Jesus would bring about His kingdom. At Jesus’ arrest and then crucifixion Peter’s vision was shattered. Everything he had given his life to had fallen apart.

    This is the way I felt toward the end of my ministry in Kutztown. The vision I had for ministry, for how Jesus would transform people and the wider community, had failed to materialize. In some ways like Peter, I’ve gone back to fishing until Christ calls me to service again. In the meantime, I think He’s working on my vision.

    Like

    1. Matt, good to hear from you. You’re a brave man taking those courses all this sem.
      I also believe Peter and the rest of them, me included, have had a different vision. Disappointment, dismay, discouragement help discipline us into His interests in others.
      I am not involved in any material ministry, so I guess I have gone fishing also. I am enjoying new insights and fellowship with God.

      Thank you for your encouragement today. Miss you, brother.

      Like

Leave a Reply

