The way I see it . . .

Stuck-in-a-Rut copyStuck in a rut!

This post is destined for provocation to some degree, so proceed with caution.

I was born again over 40 years ago. That fact is not meant for any other purpose but to serve as a reference. It doesn’t grant me certain privileges, seniority or give me any peculiar status with God. In fact, I am in your debt!

My love for God can only be evidenced by the way I treat humanity, and my cats! But we are stuck on something. Notice, I said we. From the agnostic to the faithful; from salvation to sanctification, we are stuck on our own experiences with God.

One way of looking at experiences is like crossing over thresholds from one room of the house to another. But we can not camp over the threshold. We must enter the room, in fact, live in the entire house. Our first experience with Jesus drew us into this amazing salvation. As wonderful as He is as we first meet Him, we are but only on the front porch of this immense house. Who of us really understood what we were getting into when we first fell in love with Jesus.

The threshold of salvation transporting us out of the kingdom of darkness into the brilliance of the Son of God begs for adequate description, and I suppose we will go on for all of eternity trying to find the language to do so. The prolific birthing of worship songs is evidence that we are trying very hard, and we should.

But amidst all the fervor of this initial experience is a language that reveals a condition of heart and mind, and betrays the God of our Salvation. What is supposed to be an offering of humility is overtly blasphemous to God. How many times have you heard this, “I’m a sinner saved by grace”; “I’m not perfect,  just forgiven”; oh, and “I’m only human”.

I observe a language that favors a position of separation and abuse and that language gives a true picture of where we are. Are our hearts really changing? Is our vision in sync with our character? I believe it is, and that’s really disturbing to me.

Our words tell the world what we are saying, but we don’t hear it. The most disturbing thing is, these phrases bantered around our fellowships haven’t changed in my 40+ years experience within the church.

Exactly what is a sinner saved by grace? I was a sinner, because I was born that way. I was a sinner because I inherited that from the family tree. My point? Committing sin does not make me a sinner. Birth took care of that. The new birth translated me out of that regime. Have I sinned since the new birth? Sadly, yes. What does that make me? I’m a work in progress. I was saved and continue to be saved by God’s amazing grace. It’s His ability, this grace power, but it will not aid me in my refusal to be transformed.

I hear God saying to me, “Come up higher”!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Author: RoyZed

I'm a pretty simple country guy who enjoys living in the wide open spaces. I was married two years after graduating from high school. Life was pretty simple. You know, black and white, clear cut, no hassle kind of life style.Then 40 years later our marriage ceded to death. Life as I knew it was over! Pain and suffering have a way of opening you up like a plow tills a field. As a result, my black and white philosophy went to 256 shades of gray. I have a changed perspective, a different heart and a new life. My wife, Carrie, and I live in Kempton, Pennsylvania where we are enjoying our new lives together with our friends, family, horses and a colony of feral cats.

3 thoughts on “The way I see it . . .”

Leave a Reply

