The way I see it . . .

I want you to join me in my enthusiasm for this postmodern age in which we find ourselves. It’s a delightful potpourri void of the old fragrances of objectivity, absolutes and all things in order. We needn’t despair. However, life will never return to the way things used to be. If you’re a post-modern thinker, I believe even you can agree with the aforesaid. Let me go on record to say I do not want to go back to the way things were.

If you detect any sarcasm here, it’s coming from you, not me. This is a sarcasm free post, ok? Really, what follows here represents my true feelings.

I want to be one of the trailblazers into the future. I am glad, for example, that our culture has effectively removed most familiar icons from our past lives. That really helps to pave the way for a  total reconstruction of a life we know nothing about. I am grateful for the efforts of Nietzsche, Freud, Jung, and others too numerous to name here. I am grateful for their efforts and accomplishments, because they ultimately will have played a big part in achieving God’s plan much like the Roman Empire did for propagating the gospel through their wonderful network of roads.

The roadwork was laid around the same time of the four hundred year famine of God’s word. After the Jews went into exile, during this time the temple in Jerusalem was destroyed. Pigs were slaughtered on its altars and the once precious gold temple articles were sold to fund anti-God payrolls. You could hook up with your sexual partner du jour outside the doors. The Temple became a cosmopolitan religious center honoring the various deities of Judah’s population. The empire consisting of 113 provinces was connected by 250,000 miles of roads.

Do I enjoy what I am watching as it unfolds? No. Neither am I discouraged by any of it. What saddens me is to watch a church heavy laden with religion continuing to plunder through the carnage with nothing better than to try new methods to deliver the same old content that no one wants.

And there you have it. The best is yet to come and I’m just a small part of it!

Join me.

Author: RoyZed

I'm a pretty simple country guy who enjoys living in the wide open spaces. I was married two years after graduating from high school. Life was pretty simple. You know, black and white, clear cut, no hassle kind of life style.Then 40 years later our marriage ceded to death. Life as I knew it was over! Pain and suffering have a way of opening you up like a plow tills a field. As a result, my black and white philosophy went to 256 shades of gray. I have a changed perspective, a different heart and a new life. My wife, Carrie, and I live in Kempton, Pennsylvania where we are enjoying our new lives together with our friends, family, horses and a colony of feral cats.

Leave a Reply

