The way I see it . . .

featured image

Evangelical Veil Productions –

I grew up in the country when home delivery was the norm. Every week we had bread, milk, and even potato chips delivered to our home by guys who drove route trucks. We knew the men by their first names. The guy who drove the bakery truck even had a nickname – Happy.

The man of the house earned the bulk if not all the family income. My parents never owned a home. We paid, or I should say, my dad paid our landlord twenty dollars a month for renting our two story home on 2 acres. I remember when we got our first telephone. I still remember our phone number. Wa-9626 was a party line where you shared the same phone service with other customers in the neighborhood. Private lines came a few years later.

My family went to the same protestant church for years every week. My siblings and I were married there. We were active church members. We served as Sunday teachers, choir members, ladies’ auxiliary, board members and youth group leaders. Oh, I was also an acolyte. We were religious. Very religious.

Like everyone else there, we were preoccupied with appearance. Appearance mattered. You dressed your best, because God liked that. Right? It didn’t matter too much how you lived as long as you looked good. You acted a certain way without realizing the pretense. The best part of our wardrobe was the mask you wore. You know, it was a really good mask, because it was not noticeable since it was worn by so many. The most effective masks are of the religious genre, because it really looks good on you.

Veils, masks, etc., have one purpose. They hide your true identity while portraying another image. That pretty much covers it. It was masquerading 101. You wore the disquise and stepped into your new identity.

No wonder the hungry masses believe Christianity was invented. They have every right to feel that way. In fact, they’re right! What we are surrounded by is such a bizarre fabrication, that it has no resemblance of the rugged reality produced by the resurrection of Jesus Christ.

 

 

 

Author: RoyZed

I'm a pretty simple country guy who enjoys living in the wide open spaces. I was married two years after graduating from high school. Life was pretty simple. You know, black and white, clear cut, no hassle kind of life style.Then 40 years later our marriage ceded to death. Life as I knew it was over! Pain and suffering have a way of opening you up like a plow tills a field. As a result, my black and white philosophy went to 256 shades of gray. I have a changed perspective, a different heart and a new life. My wife, Carrie, and I live in Kempton, Pennsylvania where we are enjoying our new lives together with our friends, family, horses and a colony of feral cats.

4 thoughts on “The way I see it . . .”

  1. Hi Roy, I believe Christ and Christianity is alive and well. As far as religion or religious Christianity there are three regions here…I think 1 is good and 2 of them not so much.

    1) The good part is Liturgy. I think the growth of Liturgy is a valuable tool for the Christian. Of course like all things spiritual it needs faith to grow and stay alive. The one part of Liturgy that I enjoy most is musical corporate worship. For me this has been an invaluable resource for growth.

    2) Liturgy can also be bad if it substitutes relationship…nough said for now

    3) Organization – This coupled with dead religious practices / liturgy is at the core of what most hate about religion. As much as we need some sort of organization for “where ever two or more”, the very nature of organization for most is compromise, which with faith is not a good thing most of the time.

    I could right long and hard about this but for me it is at the root of all things wrong on the earth. The only organization that works is Gods Kingdom and that is best explored in local groups that are connected regionally, and globally. This is a long topic that we will blog for eternity.

    Like

    1. Back at you Ron. Thank you so very much for your thoughts.
      Corporate worship is so vital. I remember one of my first times experiencing that in a spirit filled Mennonite church. Amazing is the only word that comes to mind.

      This was the first time, for I don’t know how else to say it, that I heard Jesus singing with us in that worship time.
      My wife and I are part of a small house church. The community is natural without preservatives.

      Shalom, my brother!

      Like

Leave a Reply

