Honey, can I drive now . . . ?

My wife has the aptitude for driving in Formula One events. The results from a career path test actually verified that she had what it takes to be a race car driver. Driving with her is, well—, stimulating! When I asked her parents if I could marry her, mom quickly quipped, “you’ll never be bored”!

Without thinking about it, a secure life is all about being in the driver’s seat. I feel a vulnerability when my wife drives that strangely disappears when I’m behind the wheel. Without realizing it, I was in the driver’s seat all my life. A Christian, in the driver’s seat of my life? Inebriated with pride, etc., etc., I was in trouble like someone falling asleep at the wheel.

The problem with falling asleep at the wheel is the waking up part. That’s what I experienced after cancer claimed Jean after 40 years of marriage. I hit a wall. It was hell waking up! In fact, mornings were my worst nightmare repeated day after miserable day for many months.

Waking up for me forced me to deal with the realization, I was never in control. Even when I was convinced I was.

Life – It’s like water to fish, so prevalent that it goes on unseen, unquestioned. This matrix far exceeds our ability to grasp it or even imagine to control it. But we press on, striving faithfully forward in our quest for security. Our perspective of control is so powerful that we (I) believe we can handle it. Whatever it is.

We must gain a new perspective, a new view.

Whenever we protect ourselves with power, we are yielding to the matrix, not to God. Jesus identified himself as “the Way, the Truth, and the Life”John 14:6

If that claim is correct; if you believe Jesus is who He says He is; I offer you the red pill . . .

 

Author: RoyZed

I'm a pretty simple country guy who enjoys living in the wide open spaces. I was married two years after graduating from high school. Life was pretty simple. You know, black and white, clear cut, no hassle kind of life style.Then 40 years later our marriage ceded to death. Life as I knew it was over! Pain and suffering have a way of opening you up like a plow tills a field. As a result, my black and white philosophy went to 256 shades of gray. I have a changed perspective, a different heart and a new life. My wife, Carrie, and I live in Kempton, Pennsylvania where we are enjoying our new lives together with our friends, family, horses and a colony of feral cats.

Leave a Reply

