God – male or female?

As long as I use myself or others for as a reference for truth, I may have God confused with Yoda.

I believe both genders of male and female are derived from God’s nature. That is, I believe that God has male and female characteristics. But with the same breath I will say the Godhead ( Father, Son, Holy Spirit)  who is not human, is neither male nor female.It’s really a mind bender! All and every ethnicity is derived from God’s nature, but He is not white, black or sepia.

Man’s description of God is not necessarily true; it is relative at best. I believe man can only describe God with what he understands. So we use ourselves as reference markers to describe what cannot be seen or understood.

So, I am proposing that there is something beyond us, beyond our understanding and experience that houses the truth. I think all other desirable qualities like love, joy, peace, etc., live in that same house.

Like I said, I’m convinced that my description of God apart from any other frame of reference other than moi is not necessarily true. As long as I use myself or others for that matter, as a reference, I may have God confused with Yoda.

I’m learning that truth and relativity (my version of truth) are strange bed fellows. One has nothing to do with the other. Truth is not relative. Truth cannot depend on my understanding to be considered what it is, viz., Truth. Also, truth does not feel compelled to confirm who I am or what I believe at any given time. I feel like I’m forced to go beyond me to get there.

There’s a high price to pay in order for me to get past my own defenses as poor or as good as I deem them to be. In looking back at my recent experiences, I’ve concluded that my security system that I designed for protection became my prison. Ugh! I did not see that coming.

I’ll finish with this. I believe we were made to run on a different fuel other than our own strength. Most cars run on gasoline, petrol or diesel. Some on propane. They were designed to run on the particular fuel engineered by the manufacturer.

You may not agree and that is quite okay, but I believe man is the pinnacle of God’s creation. The human mind is wondrously complex. God risked everything by giving him the freedom to think for himself. This God-like quality forever sets him apart from animals placing him precariously close to deity. “I said, ‘You are gods”; you are all sons of the Most High. – Psalms 82:6

You an I were made to run on God’s Spirit. Not something from God, but God Himself. Pardon the gender reference!

 

Author: RoyZed

I'm a pretty simple country guy who enjoys living in the wide open spaces. I was married two years after graduating from high school. Life was pretty simple. You know, black and white, clear cut, no hassle kind of life style.Then 40 years later our marriage ceded to death. Life as I knew it was over! Pain and suffering have a way of opening you up like a plow tills a field. As a result, my black and white philosophy went to 256 shades of gray. I have a changed perspective, a different heart and a new life. My wife, Carrie, and I live in Kempton, Pennsylvania where we are enjoying our new lives together with our friends, family, horses and a colony of feral cats.

2 thoughts on “God – male or female?”

  1. Great post! I believe the most effective way to come close to any kind of truth relies on people learning from each other’s experiences. To understand that you can learn something new about the world from anyone, no matter what age or gender or race (etc.) they are. Keeping an open mind is hard for some people so it is those people who will forever remain in their own custom truth until they decide to do otherwise.

    Like

Leave a Reply

